Sound Sorceresses
Sound Sorceresses Podcast
The Slow Roll
0:00
-6:19

The Slow Roll

and the Importance of Corageous Collaboration

Sound Sorceresses is a celebration of the value we bring as technical experts and cultural torchbearers. We’re focused on women actively engaged in audio storytelling.

The second edition of Sound Sorceresses was published on January 1, 2024, and edition three has been ready for your reading pleasure since April 1, 2024.

Sound Sorceresses is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


Welcome to the first newsletter of May! At this point, I imagine most of you know that my full-time job is in public higher education. It is with that lens that I say, the roll toward the end of the semester has been slow and maybe just a little painful. As a person who was raised in the Mormon church, I have an arsenol of Sunday School songs that I can recall on command - even several all about the pioneers colonizing the West. One such song goes “Here comes the ox cart, oh how slow. . . creak creak creak creak is their song”, and I think this refrain is somewhat fitting for where I’m sitting.

Thankfully, there is some celebration to be found and that is in the downright excellent interview between

and Becca Seidel. Their conversation about lifelong learning, corageous collaboration, and the importance of having a life outside of work.


Want to support Sound Sorceresses? Here’s how!

🥰 Click the like heart below to show us some audio love!

🏋🏽 Forward this issue to a friend and help amplify women in audio!

🐙 Help support the Sound Sorceresses magazine: You can make a 1-time donation here or subscribe starting at $8.50 USD


An Interview with Rebecca (Becca) Seidel

Becca Seidel, was able to sit down with Sound Sorceresses regular

and (at least to the readers) have a really lovely conversation all about navigating a constantly changing field. In true feminist fashion, Becca correctly gave credit to the mantra “there is no such thing as a podcast emergency” to Kathy Tu. She expounded by saying:

I care deeply about the work I create [but]. . . there is a whole world out there [and]. . . whatever the stress is, however consuming it feels, it will resolve somehow.

In a time when sharing stories can literally feel like the only thing staving off calamity, Becca’s reminder is such a breath of fresh air.


Interview - continued

I literally cannot say enough about

of Platform Media LLC. This is a strange share, so bear with me. Just a few days ago I was thinking about Kara and her love of the Mavel Cinematic University when I was watching this TikTok by Jameelah Jones about the history of the prefix Ms.

The history of the prefix is deeply feminist, and more importantly it’s antiracist. When I think of Kara and the beautiful interviews she conducts and the story she aims to tell in all the work she does, the primary descriptor that comes to mind is “intersectional feminism”.


As you know, there’s an active goal here at Sound Sorceresses. I asked for your help to connect with 50 writers by May 1, 2024. The goal is to have confirmed articles so that I can focus my attention on growing the funding base. I seriously want to make sure folks are fairly compensated! I am pleased to confirm that there are 21 articles confirmed and three additional in the works!

If you’re interested in writing, please fill out this form. If you know someone who would be a great fit, send this newsletter along to them!


Thank you for making it to the end! I’m excited to see you again on May 20!

0 Comments
Sound Sorceresses
Sound Sorceresses Podcast
Sound Sorceresses is a quarterly online magazine highlighting women doing incredible work in audio storytelling. This 'podcast' is a home for the audio that lives in the magazine.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed