Sound Sorceresses
Sound Sorceresses Podcast
Beyond the Beat
0:00
-5:30

Beyond the Beat

Sound Sorceresses is a celebration of the value we bring as technical experts and cultural torchbearers. We’re focused on women actively engaged in audio storytelling.

The second edition of Sound Sorceresses was published on January 1, 2024, and edition three has been ready for your reading pleasure since April 1, 2024.

Sound Sorceresses is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.


I had an opening in mind for this week’s edition of the newsletter, but as I was sitting down to write it I received some pretty juicy family news and had to step away to share with my spouse. When I came back, the “real” opening I had was gone and this is what remained. Why do I admit this to you? Because I think it’s important to remember that Sound Sorceresses is one part of a very full life and that we all have responsibilities to ourselves outside of our work.

But also, this feels like a very solid introduction for Lindsay Patterson and

, who are both joining us in July to share their expertise on telling stories in creative and meaningful ways!


Want to support Sound Sorceresses? Here’s how!

🥰 Click the like heart below to show us some audio love!

🏋🏽 Forward this issue to a friend and help amplify women in audio!

🐙 Help support the Sound Sorceresses magazine: You can make a 1-time donation here or subscribe starting at $8.50 USD


From Journalism to Kids’ Podcasts’

I was lucky enough to sit down with Lindsay over Zoom during a brief respite in the day (I was pretending it was nap time for my kids. I suspect her little ones were actually resting) to talk about her journey into the world of kids podcasting. When it came to the creation of Tumble, what Lindsay had to say has really stuck with me. She said:

We were just sort of imagining everything from scratch. I didn’t know that I wanted to create a community, but that’s what ended up happening.

Just like the creation of

, which was featured two weeks ago, sometimes you just have to dive in and do it!


Ear Exploring Shanghai

is my absolute favorite type of academic - one who uses her skills as a researcher to help us all have a better understanding of the world around us. Diane is not based in the United States (big duh, once you hear what her article is about) but on my side of the globe where liberal arts education is under attack I think Diane’s ability to use her background as a researcher to pivot into a new field is the perfect example of how important flexible thinking can be!

We are fortunate to have Diane sharing her experience of creating a beautiful and comprehensive soundscape of Shanghai. She pioneered a technique and the result:

. . . blew me away. On good headphones, my recordings captured exactly the aural experience of being there.

I’m excited to hear what you think about Diane’s technique when you read her article on July 1!


It’s hard to believe there’s only one more newsletter between now and the launch of the new edition of Sound Sorceresses! Is there an article that you’re especially interested to read after the “teasers” of the last several weeks?

I’m excited to hear from you this week (thank you all for your feedback on the AI question, by the way!) and excited to be back in your inbox on June 24.

0 Comments
Sound Sorceresses
Sound Sorceresses Podcast
Sound Sorceresses is a quarterly online magazine highlighting women doing incredible work in audio storytelling. This 'podcast' is a home for the audio that lives in the magazine.
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
YouTube Music
YouTube
Pocket Casts
RSS Feed